Reflections on tutor feedback – Part 5

I was really pleased with my final tutor report, summed up in the table below by her. I have been blown away by the response to my Part 5 paintings, from my tutor and others in real life and on social media.

My key aim was to be able to express the emotions and my experience clearly so it would be understood by an audience of people, from healthcare workers through to people who have no experience of cancer, but may well have experience of dealing with grief or change that is beyond their control.

My wider learning from the course

The course has definitely fired up an interest in further work on expressing my experience and looking at what other artists have done in this area. There is definitely scope to do more on this. There is also I think more scope to be playful and use humour (however dark that may be), to help me communicate more boldly via paint. The use of more varied backgrounds and media excites me also, which is why I have chosen my third Level 1 course to be Understanding Painting Media. I know I need to work more on my sketchbooks – I always want to get straight into painting, but appreciate that some greater focus on the quality of my drawing (what I actually see and not what I think I see) will help improve the quality of my paintings. Also that the sketchbook shouldn’t feel like a chore and it should enable me to experiment and have more fun! (I’ve already started to paint more in my sketchbooks, particularly in terms of practising portraits). I will explore and reflect more on this, against the criteria for assessment, in preparation for Assessment.

Strengths Areas for development
A very emotive and rich series of work produced through your personal project that explores ideas and materials Keep thinking about what you want to communicate. You have had an amazing response to the series produced and this shows how your experiences have been articulated through your work.
Well considered research that is imbedded and appropriately linked to the work produced You could look at other artists who have worked with their own experiences and how this was a valuable position and impacted practice (as discussed)
Honest evaluation and reflection that has drawn from your experiences, unpacked ideas and ways of articulating them.  You have written very clearly about your work and themes and whilst personal at times you are no longer conversational in the reflection and evaluation. This can develop to form really critically aware analysis as you progress through the courses
An accompanying explorative set of images that allowed you to be more playful and balance the personal with material experiments This balance can be developed and embraced going forward so that the ideas and the paints possibilities can be further explored and pushed.

Leave a comment